Sketchbook, Watercolor

Watercolor #12 – ugh!

7″x10″, Stadium seating at the University of Puget Sound. Painted 7/22/2010. I was really stoked about the drawing of this painting and then I went and buggered it up. I really like the tree, but for some reason I just couldn’t pull it together for the stadium. I think I found myself caught between wanting a loose style and an accurately rendered structure. Apparently I need more practice in order to achieve a balance there.

Standard

2 thoughts on “Watercolor #12 – ugh!

  1. Linda Halcomb says:

    I think if you put some dark values in the stadium it may pull it into balance. Right now the tree has the darkest values and they really pop out.

    • I know what you mean. While I was painting it I kept trying that and it didn’t seem to work out, but I think I might re-approach it at a later time. By the way, thanks for all of the comments on this blog.

Leave a Reply

